press release

Jay Siebold’s 12-track album “Streams of Conscience” to be released on Siebold Sound

LOS ANGELES -- Starsapien, the recording collective helmed by Jay Siebold, will release their first full-length album “Streams of Conscience” on January 15, 2021.

Recorded over the span of 10 months, “Streams of Conscience” spins like a half-hour carousel ride in the mind of Siebold, whose style is eclectic and mystical. “I sat down and wrote the album sequentially without really overthinking what it would be in the end,” Siebold says. “It’s classic Starsapien: a little moody, a little tongue-in-cheek, and a lot of nonsense.”

“Streams of Conscience” was recorded in secret by Siebold and his collaborators in various recording studios, living rooms, and hallways across America. The “Starsapien Players,” as he calls them, include (in alphabetical order): Kevin Beardsley, Jakob Bower, Logan Butler, Donovan Cheatham, Lauren Harrold, Alreese Hooks, Dwayne Jordan, Drew Jostad, Zane MacFarlane, Zach Miller, Jesse Moorefield, David Siebold, Michael Stark, Caique Vidal, Collin Williams, and Matthew Winget as Boris Marsman.

The eleventh track, “Jeans,” is available for streaming now.

The album was entirely produced and mixed by Jay Siebold from his home studio in Los Angeles, CA. It was mastered by Pete Lyman at Infrasonic Sound and features artwork by Italian designer Alberto Ricchi. 

Under many names and faces, Siebold has amassed a decade of music releases as performer, producer and engineer. Prior to “Streams of Conscience,” Jay released two singles as Starsapien: “The Hungry Man” and “Last Breath,” available on all platforms.


01. Bounce

02. Tombs in Paradise

03. The South

04. East

05. 9000 Turns

06. An Old Machine

07. Fleshmonger

08. Beaches

09. Monk House

10. Don’t Want to Leave

11. Jeans

12. South II


Its title comes from the closing track, “South II”:

Mindless dive into streams full of nothing

and dreams that make me bear my soul--

for what?